Looking for postdocs wanting to help facilitate a transition to a near-zero emission energy system

This is from an email sent today to colleagues in my department:

Folks,

Postdocs in my lab either have gotten or may be about to get more permanent employment, which puts me in the position of constantly trying to recruit great people.

If you know people who are really good and who are going to get their PhD degrees within a year or two (or have gotten their degree within the past year or two), please forward this email to them.

I really don’t care about people’s domain knowledge. I look to see that they are smart, productive, creative, able to complete projects, can write, can speak, can do math, etc.  Smart people can learn the relevant facts quickly.

We are a good place for people who want to understand the big picture, and who will not get lost investigating interesting but ultimately unimportant detail.

Ability to demonstrate an interest in the challenges associated with a clean energy system transition is important, but experience addressing these challenges is not important.

Two postdocs in my group engaged in geophysical modeling may move on this year, so there is space for at least two people who want to understand limits on and opportunities for clean energy systems from a geophysical perspective.

I am trying to build up our idealized energy-system-modeling effort, so there is room to hire a few people there. There is also room for people who want to do idealized economic analysis related to development and decarbonization.

On a different topic, we have had two Nature papers now which represent the culmination of our ocean acidification-related work on coral reefs in Australia (Albright et al, 2016, 2018). While I am not actively recruiting in this area, if there was a postdoc candidate who has a great idea on how to carry this work forward, and who would want to lead the project, I can make room for such a person.

In short, I would appreciate it if you would use your networks to help me find good people who are interested in topics that my group is interested in. We are open to hiring non-traditional candidates who have interest, but lack experience, in these topic areas.

The job postings can be reached through this link: http://carnegieenergyinnovation.org/index.php/jobs/

Best,
Ken

shaner-fig1a
swatch-white_8